Calendar Types

The two calendars most widely used in India today are the Vikrama calendar followed in Western and Northern India and Nepal, and the Shalivahana or Saka calendar which is followed in Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Maharashtra and Goa.
  • Vikram Samvat - The Vikrama Samvat was founded by the emperor Vikramaditya of Ujjain following his victory over the Sakas in 56 BCE, although it is popularly (and incorrectly) associated with the subsequent king Chandragupta Vikramaditya. It is a lunar calendar based on ancient Hindu tradition. The Vikram Samvat calendar is 56.7 years ahead (in count) of the solar Gregorian calendar.
  • Saka Samvat -The Indian national calendar (sometimes called Saka calendar) is the official civil calendar in use in India.
There are two types of calendars in regards to month. Amavasyant and Purnimant. All other things remain the same in these two, only the month change is on amavasya and purnima respectively.
    This map gives a rough idea of the types of calendars used in India. This information was collected from the internet and might have some discrepancies.